What Sort of Person

What type of person subscribes to the values of J.R.LIGGETT’S?  That thought crossed my mind the other day, and as I recalled the comments and praises of J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar users over the years, I came to the conclusion that one could at least generalize that most users have a certain amount of respect and interest in the great outdoors.  Even if our daily work calls us to be inside, we still long to gaze at the clouds in the sky, and birds on the wing. We want to escape at some point during the day and just feel a gentle breeze in our hair or hear the leaves rustling as they tumble down a street. When evening comes, we can’t take our gaze away from the beauty of a setting sun. If we are fortunate enough to live near a park or wooded area, the ultimate pleasure is to take a leisurely stroll, and trade the man-created aspects of life in exchange for something real… There’s just something about studying the heroic actions of an ant trying to carry an object 3 times his size–and succeeding– that just softly strips away the cares of the day. I like to focus on something bigger than my problems–even if it happens to be smaller.

This past week I came across an editorial by Christopher Kimball, editor of Cook’s Illustrated magazine. It’s found in the current issue–September/October 2012– and entitled, “Sounds of Silence”. If you enjoy nature, I’d strongly suggest you take a read–after I read the piece, I felt as calm and laid back as a cat napping in a sunny window on a chilly day. Christopher Kimball– a much better writer than I by miles upon miles– speaks of the value of quietness, stillness, observance, and carefully measuring one’s words. And with that, I will measure my words, and just say, “read the article, you will enjoy it.”

But I want to include a quote from his story that spoke to my heart and how I feel about nature:  “The woods are indifferent to human affairs; that is why nature’s conversation–the birdsong and the helter-skelter scurrying of chipmunks–is restorative. The words in our heads float away, are absorbed by the leaves, break apart into individual letters, and then disperse on the wind.”   Ahhh… my thoughts exactly.

As a child growing up, my three older brothers and I spent hours playing in the woods that surrounded our home in the outlying area of St.Louis, Missouri. We lived on two acres of land, surrounded by thick woods, a meandering narrow creek, and miles and miles of cropland–mostly corn and soybeans. We practically grew up in the woods– making forts from holes dug into dirt banks, which my brothers then completed by felling small trees with hatchets, constructing a roof, and then, lining the floor with dried leaves. We swung on wild grapevines, eased ourselves across the creek on huge fallen trees, and ran barefoot through the cool loose dirt in freshly plowed fields collecting un-earthed Indian arrowheads along the way. In the fall, we picked pears from an ancient pear tree, gathered ears of corn for our rabbits and two pet goats (the goats would run along with us as a dog would), or just sat in the woods quietly by ourselves, breathing in the smell of decaying Cottonwood leaves, and seeing squirrels jump from limb to limb high above our heads. We loved the woods, and I loved to find my solace there.

I am the sort of person who likes the idea behind J.R.LIGGETT’S. So simple, so real, so down-to-earth.  No hype, no frills. A nod towards nature in all aspects. Restorative, pure, handmade… yeah, I like that. It’s like a walk in the woods; campers, hikers, travelers–even arm-chair travelers, agree. Let’s get back to the earth–to the woods. Quietly unwrap a bar of J.R.LIGGETT’S… breathe in the scent of nature, and be restored.

Joy E. Richter                                                                              ©copyright 2012 J.R.LIGGETT LTD

The photo above: My brothers and I having just completed our fort, were bravely holding off the enemy with our weapons. I’m on the right, wearing my brother’s hand-me-down clothes–except for the head scarf!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

Leave a Reply

