Moving On

My siblings and I are clearing out my Dad’s house. Dad has moved and the house contains so much stuff… drawers and cabinets filled with near-ancient things, closets full of clothing and shoes, newspaper clippings, books, photos.  We’re coming across things from years back that he has used practically forever; amazingly, most things still function, although a lot worse for the wear. We’re sharing stories and laughing about private family jokes; it’s a time for transition and reflection, looking at what works in life and what doesn’t.  One thing for sure, Dad didn’t spend money on fancy gadgets, he kept things simple. If it performed well and got the job done, there was no use chucking it.

As we have sorted through, we found a slide ruler, and I called dibs on Dad’s old wooden folding “tape” (I always wanted to play with it when I was a kid, but I knew I’d best leave it alone for fear of breaking).  And then the kitchen ware; we found tried and true cast iron skillets, dishes that have stood the test of time and are now “collectables”, real silverware, old tea kettles, a simple ice cream scoop, a hand-powered juicer, and oh my gosh, even a wooden washboard and wash tub–no thank you, I’ll take my modern washer and dryer.

But you know, even though things have changed, these precursors to “modernity” assisted in a job well done.  The reasons were quality, function, design, appearance… a complete “package” of sorts that simply did what it was designed to do. Yeahthat’s where I’m headed… J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar.  An old-fashioned concept wrapped up in a modern package.  A well-designed, well thought out product that fills the bill, that gets the job done without a lot of bells and whistles.  Not a lot of fanfare or fancy foot-work, just a down to earth shampoo that makes it happen.  That’s all it needs to do!  Leaves your hair clean, shiny and healthy without added strange, unpronounceable chemicals. Doesn’t harm the environment, no plastic bottle to add to the landfill, easy to transport, mild enough for a body soap, shaving cream, wash out a garment, wash up a dish…

J.R.LIGGETT’S has withstood the test of time.  And even though this shampoo bar could stand chest puffed out and all proud and smug-like, it’s really not necessary, cause quality stands for itself–it makes it own statement;  it just keeps on keepin’ on… 

We could have found a bar of J.R.LIGGETT’S amongst Dad’s stuff (actually, I found two bars that I had sent him), because you don’t throw out something that works… You keep it, you use it, and you tell others about it… just like I’m doing. Will you tell others too?

Joy Richter                                                                                 ©copyright 2012 J.R.LIGGETT LTD

The photo above:  No, not Dad’s house.  Located in the Mira Valley, outside Ord, Nebraska. I’ve passed by this house for years and finally stopped and nabbed some shots.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

Leave a Reply

