Give Generously… Keep It Golden

 

“I have found that unselfishness pays because it tends to engender unselfishness.”  J.C. Penny         

Have you ever known someone who holds onto what they have so tightly, that they not only squeeze all the hope and life out of their existence, but their sourness seeps into every corner and spreads to unsuspecting folk?  Lately, I’ve been thinking about the heaping helping of generosity that I’ve experienced in my life and what I’ve learned from it.

Having moved recently, I have been on the receiving end of many hours of help from family and friends of family. People have dropped what they were doing, changed plans, or made plans to take time out of their busy days to haul belongings into our house. I’ve been overwhelmed with people who have cared enough to do something for me. I’ve thought, aren’t friends just about the most wonderful “things” on earth? Aren’t they the absolute best?   They’re the ones who hang out with you because they want to be around you, not because they have to.  They overlook your flaws and  put up with your idiosyncracies… they are generous in spirit.

I once worked at an antique and consignment shop and made a huge sales blunder. I happened to sell an item for much less than it actually cost–I looked up the price, but evidently misread, and let the item go for about 1/8 of what it should have been. I felt miserably dumb and remorseful, and told the owner I’d make up the difference. After partial payment (I couldn’t afford the entire amount at once), she returned my money and said she couldn’t take it–that’s generosity and incredible kindness.

Years ago, during an emotionally vulnerable time in my life, my best friend came through for me in a touching way. In the bleakness of winter, she treated me to a much-needed week-long California vacation, and during our visit, she paid for all my meals. Friends like that don’t come along every day.

A former boss took me under her wing and taught me so much about sales and customer skills. She encouraged me and praised me at a time when no one else thought I was very special–a generous soul.

I’ve been the recipient of much generosity from J.R.LIGGETT… and I’ve read of instances when he’s been generous to others–but I think he keeps kinda quiet about it– a humble generosity.

My point?  Pretty much it’s do unto others as you’d have them do unto you.  Keep it “golden”–let your light shine. What goes around does come around.  Don’t hang on to what you have or know if an opportunity arises to bless someone else. Don’t go through life with an iron-clad grip on your gifts and drain the joy out of the world. When you feel that little twinge of selfishness twisting your spirit, that’s your clue:  be extra generous. It will come back to you in such special, surprising ways… and keep it going. Here’s to brighter days… share what you love, even if it’s just your discovery of a terrific shampoo bar… J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar.  😉

Joy Richter  2012                         ©copyright 2012 J.R.LIGGETT

If you agree, share generously!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

2 responses to “Give Generously… Keep It Golden”

  1. Jennifer says :

    Beautiful post. And so true!

Leave a Reply

