(Almost) Taken In By A Pretty Face

Tempted by face:  Standing in the store aisle, I had several items in my shopping cart, and here before me was the Great Temptation… all shapes and sizes of containers; some with simple flip top caps, some with innovative pumps and spouts.  Luscious, mouth-watering colors and drawings of fruit, labels that drew me in with bright, trendy fonts just daring me to reach out and touch… and I did.

I was low on shampoo. Just two bars of J.R. LIGGETT’S shampoo bars on hand–well, actually, one and a half, but I’m the kind of person who likes to keep inventory up and the stock was getting low. I was shopping for other items I needed, and I thought, maybe, just maybe I’d see if these shelves held any promise for me. Perhaps there really was something out there that was comparable to J.R.’s product, or maybe even something that could substitute for it or at least be close to what I’ve been using and raving about for the past 2+ years.

I couldn’t believe the selection!  Did I have wimpy hair? Hair that couldn’t stand up to the job at hand–hair that simply “couldn’t cut the mustard”? There was a shampoo for that.  Dry hair? Colored hair? Permed, damaged hair?  Blonde hair? Gray hair? Ethnic hair?  Then the conditioners: Moisturizes. Protects natural curls. Gives hair strength and shine.  Finds you a rich husband.  Gives you boundless joy, energy and money for the rest of your life…  Just grab a bottle, toss it in the cart, and your worries are over–or so they’d like us to think.

Were any of these choices SLS-free? From the 30 or so brands on the shelves, I found one lonely SLS-free brand.  Was this my answer?  I turn over the container to get a closer look at the ingredients. True, it’s Sodium Lauryl Sulfate free, but what’s this?  A lengthy list of unpronounceable chemicals–definitely not what I had in mind!  J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar is made with pure New Hampshire spring water, and edible vegetable oils. No synthetic oils, no animal products, no chemical concoctions, and no detergents.  This shampoo  does not strip all the natural oils from your hair (as detergents do) so most people don’t even require a conditioner!

Okay, what about a “price check”?  Quickly scanning the shelves, some shampoos cost more than a visit to the hairdresser–but what does that price reflect? Packaging? Advertising?  Smoke and mirrors?  Some cost so little you knew they were suspect.  A few were priced the same as J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar, but contained well under 24 ounces–each of J.R.LIGGETT’S 3.5 ounce shampoo bar is approximately equal to a 24 ounce bottle of liquid shampoo.

But here’s the kicker, here’s what made me laugh: I asked myself, would I use any of these shampoos to wash my face? My body? My child? Would I use any of these enticing packaged liquid shampoos to shave with? Wash out a garment? Pack for a camping trip, hiking, bicycling, boating, or plane ride?  Are any of the labels and packaging biodegradable?  Nada. Zip. None.

My little moment of confusion and indecision instantly cleared up. I realized that really, there was no contest here, J.R.’s shampoo bar was the only choice.  There could be nothing more simple, more smart of a choice than that full 3.5 ounce pack-a-wallop bar of shampoo.  100%, handmade in the USA, convenient, multi-tasking, bio-degradable, no plastic for the landfill, no petroleum-based detergents, great for all hair types, easy to handle, easy to pack and use. The label design doesn’t change every time you turn around–so whether you find J.R.LIGGETT’S on the shelf at Whole Foods Stores, your friendly neighborhood health store, or simply anticipate that recognizable red, white and black design on http://www.jrliggett.com/,  it’s easy to spot and grab.  It’s a no-brainer–a simple choice–no more wondering if  the grass is greener on the other side of the fence. This is the real deal.

I pushed the cart away and headed for check-out. I had the answer all along;  J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar. The best shampoo you’ll ever use… and I’m buying it!

Joy Richter  2012                                 ©copyright 2012 J.R.LIGGETT

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

Leave a Reply

