Waste Not, Want Not: The Three “R”s of Stewardship

Who would think I’d get so excited over a commenter’s question? Last month I received a question from Jennifer Ward-Pelar of militaryzerowaste as to how J.R.LIGGETT’S products were packaged for mailing. Jennifer’s goal is to eliminate wasteful practices in all areas of her life, (“Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household”) and she was curious as to whether or not J.R.LIGGETTS uses Styrofoam peanuts or plastic bubble wrap when packing and shipping out their products.

I had never really thought too much about this issue until Jennifer posed the question, and I’m glad she did because it gives me the opportunity to share the good news of how J.R.LIGGETT’S is committed to and strives to eliminate the excess use of plastic and throw-away packaging whenever and wherever possible.

What J.R. does use for packing: recyclable cardboard, cardboard boxes, and newspaper–newspaper from J.R.’s neck of the woods–New Hampshire.  (Personally, I enjoy smoothing out said newspapers and reading… I know, sounds like I’m desperate for adventure, doesn’t it?)   I save the cardboard boxes and after marking out any identifiable numbers or information, I re-use them to send off items from my house.  The newspapers are also saved and re-used for my packaging (after I check out the latest happenings at the Claremont Public Library), but both newspapers and cardboard can be recycled.

We know the shampoo bars arrive in biodegradable wrappers–no problem there, and as for the shampoo bar itself, that disappears with use (no plastic shampoo bottle–that is one of my favorite reasons to use the bar.) J.R.LIGGETT’S provides a 16 ounce refill bottle for the Foam Face & Body Wash– purchase the body wash once, and then, use the 16 ounce refill–there is a refill for every Foam Face & Body Wash scent.  The body scrubs (I’m going to be trying these out and reporting my findings) arrive in clear glass jars which can be recycled through your local center, or washed and reused for items around the house, such as storing screws and nuts in the garage, paperclips on your desk,  loose change, or whatever your little heart desires.

Being a good steward of resources is not a new-fashioned idea. My Grandma Ruby, my mother, and now I use the phrase, “Waste not, want not”. In essence, don’t waste what you do have, and when you need it, you won’t have to purchase again.  Being a good steward of resources is not a new-fashioned idea. Grandma and Mom were totally into what I’ll call the “Three R’s”:  Reusing, Recycling, Respecting.  If you are given something, take care of it! Whether it’s the earth’s resources–land, air, water–or an item.  An excellent way to save your hard-earned money is to re-use what has come into your hands and home. Navy wife Jennifer is becoming a pro at that!  (And while I’m thinking of it, I’d like to remind everyone that J.R.LIGGETT’S offers a 30% discount on each APO order.)  Take a look at Jennifer’s blog–she’s becoming a master at reuse and recycling in our disposable-oriented world, and that knowledge is worth a lot more than (Styrofoam) peanuts!  (I know, I know… sounds corny–apologies all around.)

Joy Richter  2012                        ©copyright 2012 J.R.LIGGETT

Share this if you agree!  🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

3 responses to “Waste Not, Want Not: The Three “R”s of Stewardship”

  1. Jennifer Ward-Pelar says :

    Why, Joy this is just wonderful! What a great write up! Now….how can I get a couple of these shampoo bars? Can I buy from this site?

    • jrliggettsblog says :

      Hi Jennifer, yes, anyone can order either by going to http://www.jrliggett.com or clicking on the link on the top right-hand side of this blog (the photo of the shampoo bar) which will take you to the web site where you can browse product, and learn the story behind J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar. Clicking on the red “J.R.LIGGETT’S” on the right side will also take you to the web site. You’ll note that there is a 30% discount on each APO order. Cool!

  2. Jennifer Ward-Pelar says :

    Joy! This is wonderful! What a great write-up. Thanks for the mention! That was so kind. Now, how can I get a couple of these shampoo bars? Can I order them off this site?
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

