Living Gently On the Land

I like the idea of living as simple as possible.  Small house, only the possessions we need, healthy eating, fresh air, and enjoying nature make for a clear mind and fulfilled life.  When I was growing up, one day my mother asked me to run out to the garden that she and my brother grew, and bring back a certain vegetable. I, not being one to have much of anything to do with gardening, asked, “what does it look like?”  Thankfully, my tastes and knowledge in that area have grown and today, I could not only identify many vegetables, but I swear by their health benefits!  My brother continued with his love of gardening and nature, and years later, built a home in the Ozark Hills where he gardens nearly year-round thanks to his construction of a ‘cold frame’ he uses to grow lettuce and swiss chard, his vegetable of choice for his first experimental year. 

No, not a ‘Hillbilly’… but then, I think Hillbillies possess some mighty practical and thrifty ideas…  He first built this small cabin so he could have a place to live while clearing his land. With a loft upstairs for sleeping, the first floor featured a kitchen and living room, containing a table and 2 chairs (Thoreau?),  and a small couch. The kitchen had a small fridge, microwave, hot plate, and a sink that drained into a bucket (he boasts that he never had to call a plumber).  He sometimes grilled outside, and obtained water from a pump a few feet away and from the natural springs on his property. Of course, he also built an outhouse.

Brother is into organic gardening big time–it’s in his blood! The week I visited him in May, we enjoyed fresh lettuce, spinach, radishes, and brocoli. Pole beans were coming along nicely, as were the potatoes, onions, tomatoes, and new growth on the grape vines.  He’s learned how to use natural means to ward off garden pests and creatures that might find his vegetables too tasty to resist… ‘Bambi-proof’!

He constructed his cold frame from two recycled, full glass storm doors, which close over a raised bed frame constructed with 2″ X 6″ boards.  A thermometer remains inside the frame, and last month, when the outdoor temperature  registered at 50 degrees, inside his cold frame, it was a toasty, 70 degrees. His first crop of lettuce and swiss chard are table ready!  He planted a cover crop of rye in his garden (background) for winter. The deer love to munch on this, and come spring, he will till it into the ground.

This Outdoorsman is thrifty, frugal, immensely resourceful, and enjoys working in harmony with the land and animals. During my visit, I introduced him to J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar and explained the values behind the business and shared why I believe in J.R.LIGGETT’S  high quality products made from high quality ingredients in a people friendly, earth friendly way.

I shared with him how J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar is biodegradable, and won’t harm the water, nor the life in the water.  Made from natural vegetable oils, no harsh detergents, extremely mild, and versatile enough for body, shaving, cleaning up a dish, or washing a light-weight garment. In other words, perfect for an Outdoorsman who lives in and loves the Ozark Hills.

Joy Richter  2012             ©copyright 2012 J.R.LIGGETT LTD

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

6 responses to “Living Gently On the Land”

  1. wartica says :

    What a great post; people should really take heed to how you live your life: things would definitely be a lot less stressful for them.Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

    • jrliggettsblog says :

      Hey, thanks Jon! I swear, it is such an incredible treat to visit my brother and hang out with him. Roaming through the forest land with him takes me back to when we were growing up and practically lived in the woods playing all day. He always has an adventure planned.

  2. Malou says :

    Great post! I’m reminded of my parents-in-law’s garden in their previous home. I really love harvesting the potatoes and other crops myself. There is fulfillment in eating self-grown vegetables and fruits.

    • jrliggettsblog says :

      Thanks Malou. My brother e-mailed me the other day and he’s breaking ground for yet another garden. It will be interesting to see what new things he will grow. Thank you for stopping by.

  3. Jennifer Ward-Pelar says :

    Fantastic post. And I love, love, love the cold frame! It’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

