What Lies Ahead

2011 has been a tough year by all accounts. With the devaluation of the dollar, we’re seeing prices for everyday necessities causing budgets to be stretched to a breaking point. We’ve been cutting corners and doing without essentials while trying to make the best of whatever situation we may find ourselves struggling with. It’s wearing on our psyches to have to constantly cope and anticipate further difficulties. 

With 2012 just days away, it’s important to recognize what is in your power to change. Focus on what is most important personally; certainly your sanity should be at the top of the list, your family, health, and staying positive in an ever-changing world where the next explosive moment has the potential to sidetrack your very existence.  What road are you traveling on?

You are capable and competent. You have the ability to choose to lead an intentional life, to make deliberate choices. What would that look like for you, to meet life head on and with a purpose in mind? To investigate, to carefully consider, to think through options and then, to move forward. What choices will make a difference for future generations or even just for tomorrow? Actually, I find it rather exciting to think that I have the power to exert a positive influence in the world, or even in my own, personal environment within my family.

When the world goes haywire, you’re going to need uniformity in your life— something familiar to keep you grounded. It’s going to be different for each one of us; starting the day out with your favorite coffee mug, or going through a comfortable routine, but for some, it can be as simple as a little bar of shampoo in the shower that greets you each morning—something that makes you feel good about yourself.

In the June 2010 issue of J.R.LIGGETT’S Soapbox, J.R. shared a memory… “A couple of years ago I received a letter from a little old lady in Wisconsin who said she didn’t have very much money and lived on a fixed income. She could not afford much beyond the daily necessities of life, but she said, “I buy your shampoo which for me is a luxury item. It is a small thing, but just for a moment I can feel that I am treating myself to something special, something I look forward to… one little moment just for myself.”

That creamy white bar of shampoo that sits on the shelf in my shower… that’s where my sanity starts every morning. It’s one of the constant, true, and safe things in my world that I look forward to as the sunlight streams through the darkness and I start another day here on earth. It’s my choice, a good choice.

Joy Richter  2011                  ©copyright 2011 J.R.LIGGETT LTD

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

2 responses to “What Lies Ahead”

  1. pamelastanfield says :

    I share your interest for natural/organic products and nature as well. Thanks for the nice read.

    Pamela – http://www.ashleysbacktonature.com

Leave a Reply

