Into the Woods With J.R.LIGGETT’S: ‘A Natural Traveler’ Struts It’s Stuff

The Northeast  U.S. may have recently seen a snowstorm, but a couple of weeks ago in the Missouri Ozarks– The Mark Twain National Forest to be exact– warm temps and colorful fall leaves greeted me on a late season camping trip with family.   My personal mission was to put  ‘A Natural Traveler’ to the test.  Was it as good as it was cracked up to be?  Was it convenient?  Was it a great way to keep my shampoo bar dry, handy, and free of debris?  Would it repel bears?  Sure I could use it for showering, but what about washing up the camp dishes and in a pinch, washing out an article of clothing?  Time to put this puppy to the test.

A day of hiking, exploring, and discovering…(and just generally kicking through the leaves and keeping an eye out for Mountain Lions), this was one of the most invigorating yet relaxing times I’d had in years. We spied the Pileated Woodpecker, “a spectacular, crow-sized woodpecker with a flaming red crest” ( ‘Eastern Birds’ by Roger Tory Peterson), swooping from tree to tree, having been startled by our presence.  The thickets of freshly scented mature Pine and Oak trees obstructed an open view of the sky, and gray squirrels jumped from tree to tree keeping pace ahead of us. Once, upon reaching a pond, a  flock of approximately 25 egrets silently rose up and disappeared into the trees, and at our feet, and we heard the “plunk-plunking” sound of small frogs escaping into the water. The serenity and beauty of the natural surroundings was like a magnificent gift and I relished in the richness and beauty  of it.

 A long day, miles of walking, and back at camp, time to clean up. We had strung up a solar shower earlier that morning, and thanks to the daytime temps in the mid-70’s, a soothing, hot shower awaited.   Test #1 for ‘A Natural Traveler’:  Hanging the container on a hook, (thanks to the handy strap–although I have to admit, I think it could use another inch  in length to facilitate maneuvering the shampoo bar in and out of the container–must pass suggestion on to J.R.), I used the shampoo bar for hair and body and placed it back… no debris, no dirt, no bugs, and with the uniquely designed opening at the top and bottom, air flow was not restricted… the bar was able to dry out nicely.

There is nothing quite like the taste of food cooked over an open campfire… burgers, fried potatoes, and mug of hot coffee stout enough to make your hair stand on end–part of the experience! Fresh water springs abound in the Ozarks, and here, Test #2 for J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar: Washing up in the spring.  Shocked? Don’t be!  J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar is completely biodegradable… won’t hurt the fish, won’t hurt the environment. This is what you pack when you head into the woods.

You really can’t get past it… at some point, you have to wash some dishes. We had our camping coffee pot, we had a handy source of fresh, clean water…  fill ‘er up and place on the ‘burner’. In no time, hot water for washing dishes was ready and we were good to go.

Note here: we used our own cool invention for a ‘fire ring’… a metal wheel frame!  Hmmm… appears that J.R.LIGGETT’S resourcefulness and knack for invention rubs off on his customers– must be something in the air!

K.P. Duty!  Test #3: Could it do the job? You bet! It made a light suds, washed away the mess, and… we didn’t even need a conditioner!  Ha!

We rinsed the dishes, set them out to air dry, and we were off on to…

Test #4:  J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar loves fabric… I don’t know about you, but when I hit the trail, I’m not packing much of a wardrobe–just basic stuff and a limited amount at that. How to plan for those times you might need to rinse out an item of clothing?   Those times you might need some clean socks? Those times you might fall into a pond… up to your knees?  If you’re already packin’  ‘A Natural Traveler’, you’re miles ahead of the other folks!  Just a simple sudsing with the Shampoo Bar, a quick rinse, and nature’s clothesline awaits!   Whew! This was a life saver–the trip was a success!

You know, I had plenty of time for contemplation while on my ‘walk about’; thinking about nature, life, plants, fresh, clean air and water, yes, even J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar…  I thought how perfectly this product fits into life–my life. I use it because I love how it is made with all natural plant oils that do their own, unique ‘thing’; whether it’s healing, moisturizing, or acting as a healthy barrier between me and various organisms. I love the multi-tasking abilities, how I can use it for shampoo or a body soap. I strongly support the absence of SLS, and I simply revel in the scent and the mildness… I totally embrace the idea of the lack of over-packaging and absence of a plastic container. I whole-heartedly ‘buy’ into the premise of J.R.LIGGETT’S, “Total Commitment To Your Body”.  I admire the company’s virtues of honesty, integrity, quality. I’ve never found anything ‘wrong’ about this product.

I invite you to take your own ‘walk in the woods’ and contemplate the virtues of J.R.LIGGETT’S.  And then, come back home, renewed and refreshed, calm and clear-headed, and you will know what to do…make J.R.LIGGETT’S a part of your life.

Joy Richter  2011                              ©copyright 2011 J.R.LIGGETT LTD

Tags: , , , ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

Leave a Reply

