Whatever Happened to Customer Appreciation?

I want to share this experience while it’s still fresh in my mind…

I needed a few items from the discount store the other day, and against my better knowledge, I stopped in at a store I don’t like simply because the store was closer to my house than the store I do like. Big Mistake.  I found the items I wanted–even though the store has the consistent look of having (barely) survived a tornado.  As I stood at the check out counter, and paid for my purchase, I didn’t as much hear a “Thank you” from the employee–who is an assistant manager at that!  As my bag was pushed towards me, I said, “Thank you.”  No reaction. I thought I’d try again… “Thank you.”  Now, another employee has appeared and the two employees are chatting (and ignoring me).  Then, I got (semi) wild.  I thought, “I’m giving this another shot–maybe third times a charm?”  Me, forcefully:  “Thank you!”   Oh, finally I was noticed!   “Yes, you have a nice day now.”    Hello?  I think you are to be the one thanking me!

Have these employees not had any training in customer relations and appreciation? Does management ever wonder why their store is nearly void of customers?  Do I need to tell them where they could improve? I simply must!

I have read that most customers will not complain to management if they are not satisfied with a product or service. Instead, depending on how unhappy the customer is, they will tell between nine to sixteen friends and acquaintances about their less-than-satisfying experience. Some thirteen percent will tell more than twenty people, and more than two out of three customers who have received poor service will never make a purchase from that store again, and worse, management will never know why.  Today, with minute-by-minute updates on Facebook, Twitter, and other social networking media, a business dare not treat a customer poorly nor try to push an inferior product and expect to get away with it.  The world will know!

Years ago, I worked in sales at a job I absolutely loved. I had a terrific boss, the products we offered were fun, creative, interesting. I loved helping the customers find the perfect gift and I loved all the creative aspects of that job. I’d even stop in on my day off and if the employees were busy, I’d help a customer just because I enjoyed helping.  Okay, enough about my dream job… but my point is, early on in my employment, our boss said to a group of us, “Who signs your paycheck?”  First thought, well, the boss does. No.  The customer does.  If we do not satisfy the customer, there will be no customer. If we do not stand behind the product, there will be no business. The best product in the world is useless if the customer is not treated like, well…gold.  The customer is that valuable!

When reading J.R.LIGGETT’S Facebook page, I have noticed how timely and responsive J.R. has been to customers questions, suggestions, issues and even praises.  If you call J.R.LIGGETT’S to place an order or to talk with management, you won’t have to jump through hoops by pressing numbers for different departments, and then, finally reaching someone’s voice mail because they’re “either busy with another call or out of the office.”  (Exasperated look on face here.)   J.R. is involved. He’s reachable. He cares.

And now, this blog. Another avenue to connect with you. Another opportunity for us to learn from you–what you think, what you like, where you think there could be improvements. And here’s what I get excited about–sometimes it doesn’t take much! Four Followers have signed up to receive weekly notifications that there is a new post on this blog! (Actually, I was ecstatic at one!) It’s always good to know that someone is listening, that someone cares!  Hey! I guess that’s what customer appreciation is about–listening… caring… responding.  On Facebook, Twitter, or J.R.LIGGETT’S blog, we are ‘hear’ for you!

Thank you, thank you… we can’t say it enough!  Thank you for ‘Following’, for commenting, for spreading the word about J.R.LIGGETT’S Shampoo Bar and products. We appreciate your business!

What has been your worst or best experience when purchasing a product? Has it been like Rodney Dangerfield’s?  “I get no respect…”

Joy Richter  2011                                   ©copyright 2011 J.R.LIGGETT LTD

Tags: ,

About jrliggettsblog

I've been interested in all things natural my entire life. Not just a healthy lifestyle, but a respect and love for nature too. Since I discovered JRLIGGETT'S products, I've been an ardent admirer and user. Do I love his shampoo bar? How much time do you have?

Leave a Reply

